The Green Room
The Green Room Podcast
How You Were Born (Audio Edition)
5
0:00
-13:24

How You Were Born (Audio Edition)

Diving into this whole "reading one's own stories" thing.
5

C-Section / made by the author using MidJourney

Dear Readers!

I’m trying something else new today: my own reading of How You Were Born, which is the story of my daughter’s birth. You can now read the story below, or listen to it above!

The Green Room
How You Were Born
We stirred awake, your mother and I, and a nurse was opening the shades of the window of the Beehive Spaceship, which is what we sometimes called Good Samaritan, and twilight was casting purple shades over the Superstitions and Four Peaks out east. We’d slept maybe two hours. Then Dr…
Read more

I’m still experimenting with this. I’d like to add music or soundscapes or guests, but in the meantime I’m just getting back behind the mic and editing desk. I enjoy reading and listening to stories about equally, so I want to offer my readers both.

My tongue got tangled on some sections and I made some edits, but mostly I wanted to keep this reading as real as possible, with flubs and slips and emotion and re-reads. I trust I’ll become a better performer with practice.

For now, I hope you enjoy this reading and thank you for listening. Enjoy the weekend!

5 Comments
The Green Room
The Green Room Podcast
Voice-crafted podletters fresh from the microphone of Jordan Green.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jordan Green